Chronic Illness, Life, The Present

As They Fall

These past few days have been rough, and my emotional barriers have come down big time.  This poem expresses my feelings during this time.

 

Salt flavoured tears trickle slowly down my cheek, I’m so upset it’s difficult to speak.

My health issues are ruling my life right now, and making anything better I just don’t know how.

I try to carry on and do my best to be strong, but when I break down I feel I’m doing it all wrong.

That I should be stronger and better than this, and not let my weakness out the way that it is.

As I sit and let the tears fall, my body is breaking down an emotional brick wall.

Letting it all out doesn’t happen too often, I try not to let it show and attempt to keep it hidden.

Away from view ‘out of sight, out of mind’, but never far from the surface are my emotions I find.

I wind them up inside me so tight, in an effort to keep them out of sight.

But from time to time they emerge, and as they rush out I feel strangely purged.

Cleansed of my mental anguish and pain, even though I know it will only build up again.

02a69c81a80b4f9bde56127bb710921a

2 thoughts on “As They Fall”

Leave a Reply

